How to be a Better Morning Person

How to BecomeA Better Morning Person

Hey Guys!

Today I’m coming at you with a post on How to be a better morning person, or to become a morning person.  I’m not sure that I would call myself a morning person, but I’m definitely not a night owl either.  But then again… I have always been a better morning person over a night owl.  I do however get my best work done during the morning hours, mainly because this is when I have the most energy.

I’ve also been known to be up by 5 in the morning simply because my body refuses to sleep any longer. (and believe me when I say that it sucks when you only just went to bed at 1 or 2!)  Of course, I was like this even when I worked a graveyard shift… so that may just be my personality.  But below is a list of things that I do to help keep myself productive and going in the mornings.

Get ready for the next day before you go to bed

Figure out what it is that takes you the most time in the mornings, once you know what it is make sure that it’s done before you go to bed.  For example, for me I gather everything that I’ll be needing for the next day all together and pack and ready for me to leave.  Depending on whether I’ll be going to work or to school is what I get ready for my clothes.

So whether you are getting your lunch ready for work or school, or a backpack or a purse, if it is done the night before then you won’t have to do it the next day.  It’s also super easy to pick out your clothes and not have to worry about that in the morning as well. (or if you’re like me have a nice selection of leggings for school!)

Another thing to consider would be taking your shower at night, doing this could save you a good fifteen minutes in the morning.  Then instead of having to wash, dry and fix your hair in the morning you can just fix it.  Or if you need it I really recommend using dry shampoo for your hair on those days that you don’t wash it.  I love Tarte’s new dry shampoo!

Scale back your bedtime a little at a time, but make sure you are getting at least 7-8 hours of sleep

One of the things that people forget about when deciding to either a) become a morning person or b) get up earlier in the mornings, is that they need to also go to bed at an earlier time.  One of the easiest ways to start getting up earlier in the mornings is to slowly start going to bed earlier as well.  By going to bed 10 or 15 minutes earlier than you usually do.  This way when you set your alarm for the same amount of time earlier.  Continue to scale back a little at a time until you are getting up at the time you want to.  There is no hurry to do this so take your time.

Try not to reach for your phone first thing in the morning

If you are anything like I am, you tend to reach for you phone before you do anything else.  This could be good or bad depending on you.  I can spend hours just playing on my phone and before I know it, I’m late for something.  So if you’re able to make sure you plug your phone in somewhere not near you, this way you can’t just grab your phone in the morning and play on it, you are forced out of bed and starting your day.

Workout in the mornings

If there is one thing that I’ve discovered is that working out in the morning is more liable to wake me up and energize me than working out in the evenings or afternoon.  It doesn’t even have to be a hard core workout, simply walking in the mornings is enough to get your heart pumping.

Make sure you eat breakfast

If there is one tip I’ve heard over and over it’s that you should always have breakfast in the morning, even if it’s a small one.  There are so many options that you can choose for this meal.  A way to get ahead would be try and get it ready the night before.  Making breakfast sandwiches or pre-made pancakes are great ideas.

If you’re eating on the go, then try a smoothie or fruit, have a little bit more time in the morning mix up some oatmeal or scrambled eggs.

Make yourself a workable morning routine

A routine is something that everyone should try to have.  It doesn’t have to be a big to do but, something small like a set time that you are waking up and when you eat breakfast.  Just something that gives you a schedule of events for the mornings.  You could even make yourself a checklist of things that needs to be done every morning.  Before long you wouldn’t even need the list.

I don’t know about you, but giving myself a reward for doing something is the biggest way to ensure that I actually do it.  Rewards could be something like allowing yourself that extra Starbucks a week, or trying that new drink, or even getting yourself that new book or movie that you’ve eyeing. FYI: If you have never tried the Pink Drink at Starbucks, it is amazing!

Another type of reward could be buying yourself that expensive body wash, or bath bomb or shampoo that you’ve been eyeing for a while.  Have fun with this reward.

The lasting thing that I can say is that you should maintain your routine, just because it’s the weekend or your day off doesn’t mean that you should ignore your routine.  Ignoring it for one day could cause you decide that maybe you shouldn’t follow it on a day that you really should.

Maybe Music

For me having background noise going just helps me keep on track.  Consider making a playlist for your mornings, or finding a spotify or pandora list that gets you going in the mornings.  There are some great music apps out there that could help.  Or you could just go on YouTube and create your own playlist with videos.

Have a set time to be ready by everyday

One way that I make sure that I’m ready for the day is to set an alarm for myself.  No… I’m not talking about an alarm that wakes me up in the morning, but instead one that tells me that I have five minutes before I need to leave for the day.

That being said, take your time in the morning.  Don’t rush yourself and make yourself be read in fifteen minutes, if you don’t have to be somewhere until hours later.  Schedule you some time in the morning to do something for yourself.  Whether that’s drinking a cup of coffee and reading a few chapters in a book, or watching an episode of a show, a morning workout or watching YouTube videos.  It’s up to you.  Rushing yourself could lead to forgetting something and making you late.

What do you do to make the most of your mornings?  Comment down below.

Until Next Time!
Tabby

 

Leave a Reply

