Semester Goals: Spring 2017 Update

Hey Guys!

Well here it is the spring semester is over and it’s time for the Summer Break.  (and holy cow did this semester speed by in a flash!)  Not that the summer temperature hasn’t already been here in South Texas for a while… like since March, but at least there are no classes for a while.  Though I have enjoyed the mornings were it’s only 59 or 60 outside… at least until the sun starts beating down on me. (at 11:00 am!)

I can’t tell you how much I am grateful for DaniDearest‘s blog that had me start writing goals down for each semester.  It helped out for my 1st semester and did so again for my 2nd.  These goals helped me have a focus and something tangible to reach for.  I accomplished ____, not to bad if I don’t say so myself.

Making my goals public like this was the perfect way for me to be held accountable for them.  Before these last two semesters, I’ve never set goals and never so publicly before.  And doing so helped me.

Now, unlike most of my semesters this one for some reason has 16 weeks of classes… I think I counted that right.  Especially since they started this semester almost a week earlier than they usually do. (Today’s my first day of classes)  So I’m going to do 15 goals… mainly because the first week is really just a prep week for the courses.  Let’s see how I do at the end of the semester.  Here’s my goals for this semester and how I did on them:

 

1. Get at least a B in my classes.

Result: ✓ Success!  This semester was a wake up call for me.  I have never really understood what a  differences you have to do in order to change your writing habits from undergrad to grad school… after a year in grad school, boy can I tell you that you have a serious mind swap coming!   I ended up with a B in my Power and Protest History course and an A in my Creative Writing course.  (My mom always did say I could tell stories!)

2. Try and get my assignments done before the day they are due.

Result: ✓/X  This was a semi-success.  For the most part I would complete the assignments for my History class at least 2 days before they were due… at least at the beginning of the semester.  I’m not sure what happened (I think spring break through me for a loop) but after spring break I seemed to not be able to getting anything done before the day it was due.  On my creative writing class

3. Work out at least 2 times a week. (I’m going to make an effort, but we’ll see.)

Result: X  Yea… this wasn’t my best semester… wasn’t my worst either, but I just couldn’t seem to find the time (or the motivation) to make it to the gym.  The only time I stepped foot into the Dugan Center was for my class on Thursday nights.  So I’ll be keeping this on my goal list for a while until I at least can manage it.

4. Try a fitness class on campus.

Result: X  Yea… this wasn’t my best semester… wasn’t my worst either.  All semester I kept trying to make it to one of the fitness classes that were available, but I justhad no motivation at all, or I had homework that needed to be finished.  The only time I stepped foot into the Dugan Center was for my class on Thursday nights.  So I’ll be keeping this on my goal list for a while until I at least can manage it.

5. Spend more time with my family and friends.

Result: ✓  I really was able to this one more than I thought I’d be able to.  Especially since I have two jobs.  However, I made time.  During the weeks where I would work the weekend I would stay with my aunt and bring my mom along so that we could have a girls weekend.  Or the weekends or weeks that I didn’t have to work I’d take off to see my sister.  Overall, it was a success.  The only way to spend more time is to make it happen.  I also had my 3rd annual birthday pizza lunch with my friends Rosie and Jaxine.  We’ve been doing this for a while now and it’s amazing catching up on what’s going on with everyone.

6. Actually stick to my budget. (for food, or other things)

Result: X   Well this is another area where I failed miserably.  I tried hard to not eat out a lot and for the most part I succeeded, but I really didn’t stick to my budget at all.

7. Cook more, and take my own lunches for school.

Result: X   Well I started out strong on this… for about a week.  Then between school and my two jobs I just sort of lost any motivation I had in doing this.  Maybe next time.  I really do need to work on this more, not only would it be healthier for me but also for my budget.

8. Reach my activity goals on my watch each day/week.

Result: ✓/I’d give this a semi-successful … it wasn’t all that bad for me this semester.  Considering the amount of time that I spent writing papers and not really moving I did pretty good.  But I’ll be working on getting better next semester!  A total of 61 days out of 134.  Yay me!

 January       13/31                                                                                                      February     19/28                                                                                                    March           13/31                                                                                                    April             18/30                                                                                                    May               10/14  (I still count this because it was during finals)

Total: 73/134

9. Post on each of the days I’ve assigned a post on HomeTownGirlWriter.

Result: X  Well this was epic failure this semester.  I really need to work hard this summer and plan out next semesters posts so that I don’t become overwhelmed and not get them done.  With my hectic schedule I just wasn’t able to manage two full time jobs, graduate school, and writing and posting on the blog.  Hopefully, this summer I’ll be able to catch up.

10. Save at least 10% of my paychecks each week.

Result: X   Well I started out strong on this… for about a month.  Then life got in the way and I started living check to check… again.  We’ll try again next time.

11. Make my bed and pick up things in my room each morning. (In my hope for a clean room/house.)

Result: ✓   I have actually did really well for the most part.  I have been straightening out my blanket in the morning if not out right folding it up.  It makes it hard when you have a dog that will make itself a lump in the center of the bed before you leave in the mornings.

12. Take time for myself each week.

Result: ✓  Completed! I made sure that each week I had at least 30 minutes to an hour for myself.  Whether it was just to read a book that I wanted or to take a long bubble bath, it was my me time.  I especially needed this because this last semester has been a really rough one.  This is something that I’ll keep working towards as the semesters come and go.

13. Open my planner everyday and make sure it’s completed for the upcoming week.

Result: ✓   I recently began using a Create 365 Happy Planner, and boy can I say that It has changed my life.  All the stickers and things for have made me want to plan out my weeks.  Plus the layout makes it easier for me to spread out my day and keep things organized.

14. Have saved at least $500 by the end of the semester.

Result: X/✓… well sort of.  Well I actually did have almost $800 saved in my savings around Spring Break, but then life happened and I had to use it for bills and car expenses.  Which technically is what I was saving it for anyway.  But I’m wanting to have the cushion of having $500 and not have it drop below so I have the safety for when I need it.

15. Go somewhere I’ve never been before.

Result: X  Well this was epic failure this semester.  Between the time I spent working at my two jobs and doing my stuff for school, all I wanted to do in between was sleep.  I’m going to have to work on maybe going somewhere new next semester… even if it’s just a new museum in a different city!

Results

6.5/15 Goals Completed

Hmmm… I may need to work a little bit harder.  Technically, I had 5 that were fully successful and 3 that were semi successful.  So 8 out of 15 isn’t that bad one more than half, but that still leaves me 7 goals that I need to work harder on.  But overall, I did my best and I’ll be trying harder to do better!

Question of the day: Did you set goals for yourself during the spring semester?  How did you do?  Comment down below.

Until Next Time!

Tabby

Leave a Reply

