College Life: Things I Regret NOT Doing in College

Hey Guys!

So here it is in January and the new semester is coming up fast for some of us.  With this new year it had me thinking of all the things that I missed because A) I didn’t go to college right out of high school and B) I commuted to both of the schools that I attended.  So I missed a lot of things that normal college kids do.

One thing that I don’t regret is going back to school and then turning around and continuing on to gain another degree and again continuing on to do my best to earn a third.  As of right now I have an Associate’s of Science degree and a Bachelor’s of Liberal Arts in History and am currently working on my Master’s of Liberal Arts in History.

The regrets that I have are:

  1. Not joining in on the events that happened on campus.

It was a lot easier when I was attending a community college for me to participate in events, both with clubs and random events that the college hosted.  But the one thing that I can tell you is that the few that I did attend and even some of the ones that I helped with I had so much fun doing them.  It made making friends easier when you can do things like this together.  Especially when you have problems making friends because you tend to be shy or a bookworm like me.

  1. Not going on a real Spring Break.

Considering I was in my mid 20s when I decided to go back to college, I already had a full-time job and bills to pay.  So getting a week or more off during spring break was hardly an option.  However, if I had the option to do so now, I’d try and find a way to at least take a few days and do something exciting.  I know that my campus usually hosts something called the Big Event where students spend their spring break helping out in their community.  I think I may try and find out more and if I can participate in it.  Or maybe taking a Thursday-Monday and going on a road trip somewhere.

  1. Not going out with friends more often.

Again being the older non-traditional college student I never really went out with any of my college friends.  Mostly, because I was older than them and I had a job that I had to get to when most were still sleeping off whatever they did the night before.  But the few times that I went out with friends was always fun.  Mainly because I don’t drink that often and I had fun watching my friends get drunk.

  1. Not taking random classes just because.

The one thing that I remember hearing is that college is the time for you to experiment.  To take random and nonsense classes just for the heck of it.  Like taking a history of rock or a basket weaving class or a bowling class.  Classes that you take just because you can.  I took a photography class that for some isn’t a random class but for a history major it was.  I had the best time in this class and it gave me something to look forward to in a semester full of history classes.

  1. Not studying abroad for a semester or even for the summer.

Now I did a small type of study abroad when I was at my community college where I went to Puerto Rico for two week and got Spanish credit for it.  But recently I had two of my friends (at different times) go and study in Europe for the entire semester.  This is an experience that I wish I could have.  Considering one of them was finishing her Master’s degree I might still be able to experience this.  Again being a non-traditional older student it’s harder to get away for the length of time that I would be gone for.  I recommend looking into whatever programs your campus offers.  There are some that offer 2 week programs like my community college did and others that offer spring break programs or mini-mesters or summer programs.  Just look into it and see what you can try.

  1. Not living in a dorm room.

Now this one is a bit more on the wishful side.  Because I can tell you that I don’t think I would have missed having to share a bathroom with 4 other people or more the entire floor of people.  But I wish I would have gone to school right out of high school and been able to experience the college life a bit more.

  1. Not going to the gym more.

I’ll be the first one to admit that I don’t do a lot of exercising.  But I do wish that I’d use the gym more.  Especially since it’s a part of my tuition already.  Believe it or not you did more exercise than you thought you did in high school.  You might as well use the free gym membership that you’re already paying for.  Most campus gyms offer the use of all the machines an indoor track, or indoor swimming pool.  They even have free exercise classes that you are allowed to join in on simply by having your school id.  There are a multitude of ways to keep healthy and fit in college.  All you have to do is look for them.

  1. Not joining a Sorority or Fraternity.

This is the biggest regret that I have, because while the university that I attended didn’t have actual greek houses we did have sorority and fraternity chapters that I could have tried.  But rushing is one of those things that is part of the classic college experience that I never did.

  1. Not going to sports events.

This one is also a big regret.  While the college and university I chose to attend had basketball, baseball, and volleyball teams, neither of them had football teams.  Which is the sport that I love watching the most.  Some of my favorite memories in High School come from hanging out with my friends at the football games (plus I was in the school band so I had to be there anyway!).  I wish now that I had taken the opportunity to attend some the games that either of the campus’ offered.

  1. Not doing more internships or volunteer opportunities.

One thing that I’m super grateful for was the opportunity to intern at the local Science and History Museum.  What made it even more fun was that I got to experience this with two of my friends who also happened to be History majors.  We learned so much about the archives in the museum and how to work in a museum.  I wish I was able to experience more of this but I’m glad I got to experience this.  What I recommend for you to be able to experience this as well is to go talk to your professors or the chair of the department of your major and find out if there are any internship or volunteer opportunities that you can take part with.

Well I hope these regrets or kinda sorta regrets will help you not miss quite so much in your college and university years.  Learn from what I didn’t do and go out there and make memories.  Question of the Day: Do you have any regrets from your years in college or just missed opportunities in general?  Comment down below.

Until Next Time!

Tabby

Leave a Reply

