Back to School Blues

Back to School Blues.png

Hey Guys!

Well as you can tell it’s that time again.  School is starting up again soon and you just realized that you didn’t get anything done this break that you wanted to.  (At least that’s how it seems to me anyway)  I know you’re thinking that it can’t be time for school yet!  I just got out!  Now you’re having to readjust yourself to the school time routine… after finally getting used to doing your own thing.  You know showing up when you want to (if you don’t have a job) or deciding whether or not you really want to go do something and deciding that Netflix is better (again… if you don’t have a job). I myself start school back up again on the 18th, which is early for my school by about a week.  This is what I do to help myself get back into the swing of things.

  • Start Early:

    About a week before the semester is about to start, I begin to get up or set my alarm for the time I will be getting up.  I also start an inventory to make sure that I have everything that I need for the coming semester, ie: supplies, books for class, a not broken backpack.  Starting early with your sleep schedule is important, you don’t want to be staying up until 2 or 3 in the morning only to have to get up at 6 or 7 for an 8 am class.  Not only is this not a practical decision, but it’ll also leave you cranky.  Also don’t forget about gathering all of your school supplies and making sure that you have everything ready.  The last thing you need is to be running around the morning of your first day back and you can’t find your stuff.

 

  • Meet ups:

    The one thing that I remember about school… not just high school, but also college is that I loved hanging out with my friends there.  To get over the blues at having to return call up your friends and schedule a time to meet up with them.  This could be as simple as getting to school early and having lunch before class (if you’re in college) or just meeting up in front of the school before it starts and hanging out during lunch time (if you’re in high school).  College time is when you get to meet all sorts of new people in those classes you have to take.  I’ve made many friends during the course of my academic career.  I usually get with them to see what classes they are taking and if I need them as well we usually take them together.

  • Determine your Goals:  

    Figuring out what your short-term and long term semester goals are is a good idea.  This will help you remember why it is you are getting up at 6 or 7 in the morning.  Writing down this list and keeping it in an easily accessible place where you can read them daily for the first few weeks is also a good idea.  Whether that’s on the mirror in your bedroom or bathroom or even on the refrigerator.  When you start doubting yourself remember that you have goals and an education is a big step in this.

  • Healthy Goals:

    Now that you aren’t at home with easy access to healthy snacks it’s going to be harder to maintain a healthy eating lifestyle.  But if you work hard it shouldn’t be to bad.  Not only will eating healthy help you look and feel better but it helps keep those break outs down to a minimum. (all that sugar while tasting great isn’t that great for you.)  Try making your lunch for school the night before and including healthy snack options for those munchies that seem to hit randomly.  If you really want to prep, you can do a weeks worth of prepping on Sundays and you’ll be ready for the week.

  • Planning:  

    Don’t forget to either daily or weekly update your planner.  This way you’ll never be surprised about an assignment, test, or paper.  Even if you’re just using an app on your phone if it’s written down then you’re less likely to forget about it.  I myself use both a paper planner and my cell phone as well as an assignment spreadsheet that I found on Dani Dearest.  You can find that here.  I found her post on the original one a few semesters ago and have used it ever since.  I’ve found it to be a lifesaver on when everything is due what my grades were on the assignments and where I stand at the end of the year.

Well hopefully this will help you get over the back to school blues.  Question of the day: What do you do at the beginning of each semester to get you over the slump?  Also when do you start school back up again?  Comment down below.

Until Next Time!

Tabby

Leave a Reply

