5 Easy and Healthy Breakfast Ideas

Hi Guys!

So since I’ve been on a healthy living kick lately I though I’d do a post with 5 easy and healthy breakfast ideas.  I’m all about easy in the morning, but if I let myself I’d probably end up eating cereal right out of the box.  So I thought I’d  give you some ideas that are quick, easy and healthy for you.

  1. Overnight Oats in a Jar – I’ve seen these things everywhere.  I follow a youtuber called The Domestic Geek and she has some amazing ideas on there.  So if you have time you should totally check her out.  I’m not going to lie, a lot of the things she has on her page has to be cooked in on a stove or oven, but if you don’t mind sifting through it there are plenty that you can find that can be done in a dorm.                                                                                                                                       So to start off with your base oats you will need: 1/2 a cup of old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup of almond milk (or any kind of milk really), 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt.  Then this is when you can start having fun with it.  I’ve found recipes on pintrest that are amazing and so fun to mix up and try.                                        Carrot Cake
    1/4 cup carrot, shredded
    1 tbsp maple syrup
    2 tbsp pecan, chopped (optional)
    1/4 tsp cinnamonBlueberry Lemon
    1 tbsp blueberry jam
    1/2 tsp lemon rind
    1/4 tsp vanilla extract
    1/4 cup blueberry                                                                                                                                                  Chocolate strawberry
    1 tbsp honey
    1 tsp cocoa powder
    1 tbsp chocolate, shavings
    1/4 cup strawberries, hulled and sliced

    Banana Nut
    1 tbsp honey
    1 tbsp natural nut butter
    2 tbsp walnuts, chopped (Optional)
    1/2 banana, sliced

    Pina Colada
    1 tbsp honey
    1 tsp coconut, shredded
    1 tbsp almonds, slivered
    1/4 cup pineapple, diced (you could use crushed)

    Mocha Madness
    Substitute 1/4 cup leftover coffee for half of your base liiquid
    1tsp cocoa powder
    1/2 tsp vanilla
    1 tbsp raw sugar

    Pumpkin Pie
    1/4 cup canned pumpkin (not filling)
    1 tbsp maple syrup
    1/4 tsp cinnamon
    1/4 tsp nutmeg

    1) Combine all of the ingredients in a mason jar.
    2) add less milk or more milk based on how thick you prefer your outmeal.
    3) shake well and refrigerate overnight.

    Enjoy it cold, strait from the fridge or heat it up for a healthy, hot breakfast.

  2. Smoothies & Shakes – I love this on some mornings and I love the fact that I can just grab it and go.  You can pretty much add anything to your smoothie and it will come out amazing.                                                                                                                 I found the following on the Domestic Geek’s website. (Have I mentioned that she’s Amazing!)Ingredients:
    • Monday — Yellow Smoothie
      • ½ cup pineapple juice
      • ½ cup Greek yogurt
      • ½ cup frozen pineapple, diced
      • ½ cup frozen mango
      • 1 banana, chopped
      • 1 tsp grated ginger

     

    • Tuesday — Orange Smoothie
      • ¼ cup orange juice
      • ½ cup vanilla Greek yogurt
      • 1 small orange, peeled and frozen
      • ½ peach, peeled and diced
      • 1 carrot – grated

     

    • Wednesday — Red Smoothie
      • ¼ cup almond milk
      • ½ cup Greek yogurt
      • ½ cup frozen raspberries
      • ½ cup frozen strawberries
      • ½ cup frozen watermelon

     

    • Thursday — Purple Smoothie
      • ½ cup pomegranate juice
      • ½ vanilla Greek yogurt
      • ½ cup frozen blackberries
      • ½ cup frozen blueberries
      • ¼ cup cherries, pitted

     

    • Friday — Green Smoothie
      • ½ cup orange juice
      • ½ vanilla Greek yogurt
      • ½ avocado, peeled
      • 2 kiwis, peeled
      • 1 handful of baby spinach

    Directions:

    1. Pour the liquid ingredients into the blender.
    2. Next add the remaining ingredients.
    3. Blend the mixture until combined.
    4. The blended mixture can be stored in the refrigerator for up to three days.
    5. Serve and enjoy!                  make-ahead-smoothies

  3. DIY Acai Bowl–  I’ve been seeing these all over YouTube and Instagram, so of course, I had to try one.  Below is the recipe that I followed, except I didn’t put any dragon fruit.   You could always just use Greek yogurt, either plain or flavored and do the same thing with fruit and nuts.easy-acai-bowl
  4. Smoothie Popsicle – I’m not sure where you guys are when you’re reading this, but down here in South Texas we have been hitting the triple digits in heat records all summer.  And now that it’s fall… it hasn’t really changed all that much.  So we tend to take every chance we can to cool down.  Now for this all you really need is your favorite yogurt, maybe some fresh fruit to throw in, but that optional, and either a  diy Popsicle maker or those tiny little tasting cups, and a freezer.
  5. Fruit Cup – I love me some fruit.  I’m one of those people that can grab a tray of strawberries and probably eat them all.  Any way, this one is pretty self explanatory.  Grab a bunch of fruit that you love and chop and dice it up.  If you do this a whole bunch at a time then, you can have some for later too!  My favorite combo is Strawberry, pineapple, watermelon, banana and green apple. Bonus Tip: if you soak your apples in a salt water bath before putting it into a container then it won’t go brown on you.

Well that’s it for this edition of eating easy and healthy.  I hope I gave you some great ideas.  If you decide to try any of these feel free to tag me on instagram (@tabithajeanett), snapchat (@tabbyja) or twitter. (@tabithajeanett) and show me how it went.  Subscribe so you don’t miss any of my future posts.

Until Next Time!

Tabby

Leave a Reply

